A Home Left Behind

When I first moved out of Toronto into a more rural setting (I love the city, but I’m not a big fan of living there), this house was still maintained a bit.  At that time plants were kept from devouring it whole.  That was over 10 years ago.

These plants are quickly reclaiming what was taken away- Click to view larger size

I would love to show a before image, which would show the change more dramatically.  Unfortunately, back then I wasn’t into photography.  I guess there’s good advice for everyone; get out there and take more pictures.  You never know when something interesting will no longer be there to photograph later.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Abandoned, Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That’s very cool Darren. I’d love to see it a bit more close up.

  2. Thanks Edith. I have a closer shot, and I want to return to this site to try other comps as well

  3. Nice shot Darren. The image and your story makes me think of The Little Shop of Horrors. 🙂

  4. Thanks Steven. I’d love to get access to this property to complete the story. When I go back I plan to ask around.

  5. Fantastic composition. Love the weeping willow (?). We just don’t get those here in Naples… 😦

  6. Thank you kindly Adam. Weeping willow are beautiful in summer. We have quite a few here in Ontario, Canada, usually around rivers and streams where they can get quite huge. This one is in a marshy area and is not a large specimen.

  7. Wow are those plants creeping up the home and taking it over? Nice shot.

  8. Mother nature reclaiming. Nice shot.

Leave a Reply

